Maximilian Otto

Conductor

Composer

Pianist

 

 

 

BIOGRAPHY

Maximilian Otto, born in Chemnitz in 1998, has been second Kapellmeister at the Theater Chemnitz since the 2023/24 season and has already conducted revivals of Fledermaus, Offenbachs‘ Orpheus in der Unterwelt, My fair Lady and Carabet as well as performances by Martinů's Die Drei Wünsche.

Maximilian Otto is a prizewinner of the 11th conducting competition of the central German music academies, in which he conducted his own world premiere with the MDR Symphony Orchestra in the prizewinners' concert. He has also been a scholarship holder of the German National Academic Foundation (Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes) since 2019. He attended master classes with Jean-Philippe Wurtz, Omer-Meir Wellber, Johannes Pell, Ole Kristian Ruud and Christian Thielemann, who invited him to a sponsorship rehearsal designed as a master class at the Salzburg Festival in 2022, in which he conducted the Staatskapelle Dresden. He has also worked with orchestras such as the Robert Schumann Philharmonic Chemnitz, the Sinfonietta Dresden, the Anhaltische Philharmonie Dessau, the Jena Philharmonic, the Elbland Philharmonie Sachsen and the Bad Reichenhall Philharmonic. He has already worked as a musical assistant and/or répétiteur for certain productions at the Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar (Strauss' "Ariadne"), at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin (children's opera production of Wagner's "Lohengrin"), at the Gaechinger Cantorey (Haydn's "Creation" ) and at the Landesbühnen Sachsen (Marschner's “Vampyr”).

GALLERY

PRESS

The entire ensemble appears to be in excellent condition in terms of singing and dancing, and the support from the slim, always crisp and à point instrumental ensemble in the orchestra pit, which the young Kapellmeister Maximilian Otto confidently brings into harmony with the ensemble, is also fantastic.

Torsten Kohlschein about the premiere of “Cabaret” at the Chemnitz Opera House in September 2023

CALENDAR

MASTERCLASS WITH OLE KRISTIAN RUUD

Volkshaus Jena

MY FAIR LADY

7:30 p.m. | Chemnitz Opera House

SEMI-FINALS OF THE INTERNATIONAL CONDUCTING COMPETITION ROTTERDAM

Jurriaanse Zaal Rotterdam | Sinfonia Rotterdam

Maximilian Otto

Dirigent

Komponist

Pianist

 

 

 

NEWS: DIE SPIELZEIT 2024/2025 | Opernhaus Chemnitz

Premiere: LOUISE | Charpentier

Premiere: DAS TAGEBUCH DER ANNE FRANK | Frid

DIE DREI WÜNSCHE | Martinů

CARMEN | Bizet

HÄNSEL UND GRETEL | Humperdinck

RIGOLETTO | Verdi

LA BOHÈME | Puccini

BIOGRAFIE

Maximilian Otto, 1998 in Chemnitz geboren, ist seit der Spielzeit 2023/24 2. Kapellmeister an den Theatern Chemnitz und leitete dort bereits Wiederaufnahmen der Fledermaus, Offenbachs‘ Orpheus in der Unterwelt, My fair Lady und Carabet sowie Vorstellungen von Martinůs Die Drei Wünsche.

Maximilian Otto ist Preisträger des 11. Dirigierwettbewerbes der Mitteldeutschen Musikhochschulen, bei welchem er im Preisträgerkonzert eine eigene Uraufführung mit dem MDR-Sinfonieorchester dirigierte. Zudem ist er seit 2019 Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes. Meisterkurse besuchte er u. a. bei Jean-Philippe Wurtz, Omer-Meir Wellber, Johannes Pell, Ole Kristian Ruud und Christian Thielemann, auf dessen Einladung er 2022 im Rahmen der Salzburger Festspiele bei einer als Meisterkurs gestalteten Fördererprobe die Staatskapelle Dresden dirigierte. Zudem arbeitete er bereits mit Orchestern wie der Robert-Schumann-Philharmonie Chemnitz, der Sinfonietta Dresden, der Anhaltischen Philharmonie Dessau, der Jenaer Philharmonie, der Elbland Philharmonie Sachsen und den Bad Reichenhaller Philharmonikern. Er war für bestimmte Produktionen als musikalischer Assistent und/oder Korrepetitor bereits am Deutschen Nationaltheater Weimar (Strauss‘ „Ariadne“), an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin (Kinderopernproduktion von Wagners „Lohengrin“), bei der Gaechinger Cantorey (Haydns „Schöpfung“) und an den Landesbühnen Sachsen (Marschners „Vampyr“) engagiert.

GALERIE

PRESSE

Gesanglich und tänzerisch zeigt sich das gesamte Ensemble bestens disponiert, fantastisch auch die Unterstützung durch das schlanke, stets knackig und à point liefernde Instrumentalensemble im Orchestergraben, das der junge Kapellmeister Maximilian Otto souverän mit dem Ensemble in Einklang bringt.

Torsten Kohlschein über die Premiere von „Cabaret“ im Chemnitzer Opernhaus im September 2023

KALENDER

ORPHEUS IN DER UNTERWELT

19:30 Uhr | Opernhaus Chemnitz

PREMIERE: DAS TAGEBUCH DER ANNE FRANK

16:00 Uhr | Städtische Musikschule Chemnitz – Konzertsaal

DAS TAGEBUCH DER ANNE FRANK

19:30 Uhr | Städtische Musikschule Chemnitz – Konzertsaal